Tulare County Fair Amusement Rides


When I go to the fair, the camera tags along too just in case some interesting photo images come up.  Several years ago I stumbled across some 4H High School kids I knew from church and youth soccer bringing their animals into the judging arena.  I think they appreciated getting images of their project animals looking their best.  Although in my mind it would be bitter-sweet knowing the critters went into someone’s freezer locker not long afterwards.  I know I would get too attached to the animals as pets.

Last year tried to hand hold the camera while shooting the amusement rides in the dark.  Since I knew it would be shaky and blurry, I tried zooming the lens for different effects.  Here is an example.

Photo Shot Hand Held and zoomed – 2009 Tulare County Fair

More hand held images from last year here:   Tulare County Fair 2009

This year lugged around a tripod to see what images could be made.  Felt kind of conspicuous carrying around the extra gear. I liked the cleaner lines I got with the tripod. Here is an example of the results.

Ferris Wheel captured on Tripod at 2.5 seconds, f22 ISO 200.

Zoomed some others hoping for smoother zooms than the hand held ones last year.

This zoomed image doesn’t look much better compared to last year’s hand held even though shot on a tripod.  Zoomed lines are a little straighter but not something noticed unless looking for it.

I tried to capture the thrill of the free-fall drop on this ride.  Not sure anyone would know what is happening without being there to see it before hand.

No Flash used – Short exposure
2.5 Second Exposure using Rear Sync Flash

More images here:  Tulare County Fair 2010

After eating that delicious fair food, not sure I would feel so good riding all those spinning and dropping rides.  Guess I’m getting old enough to enjoy watching.


Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.