Madera Wine Trail – 3rd Stop: Quady Winery

My GPS wanted to take me the wrong way but the Madera Wine Trail map directed us successfully to Quady Winery.  By now it is lunch time and I’m thinking food and my friends are thinking Dessert – wines that is.  Quady is one of the few U.S. wineries specializing in port, dessert and aperitif wines.  I even saw them mentioned in the most recent Sunset Magazine.

So I dutifully follow along on the taste tour past the wonderfully aromatic BBQ beef sandwich plates outside. OK, I like sweet things and I actually have tasted some Port that I like (remember – I’m no connoisseur and some say my taster is broken – but I just like sweet things) so maybe I’ll find something I really like inside.  But alas, I’m the D.D. and no samples allowed for me.  So, what can I photograph?

GreeterRight inside the door, I was greeted by this lovely person.  Ok, that was a sweet start to the tour.  But the isles were getting crowded and shooting images of casks with the backsides of people in front just wasn’t working for me.

Orange BottlesRan across this interesting and pretty display with the decoratively peeled oranges.  Captured the shot with my long lens since I couldn’t get closer.Peeled OrangesI’m guessing that these featured wines must have something to do with Oranges (ya think?) and based on their website I’ll bet they were made with Orange Muscat Grapes.  But I did not get close enough to read the labels.  Anyway, I liked the colors and design.

Heart BalloonNow, I confess, I actually did get one sip of wine this trip and it was here.  My favorite wine snob brought over a taste of something that she was turning up her nose at.  “Tastes and smells just like your morning Grape Juice”.  Yep, sure did.  Sweet (right up my alley) and tasted and smelled just like my Paul Newman Concord Grape Juice except with a little kick to it.  Hey – something I really liked!  Now there was something I could actually drink at a social gathering instead of just swirling in my glass.  (And you wonder why I don’t write wine reviews!)

The rest of our group did find selections they liked.  In the mean time, I’m enjoying the many artistic pieces brought in for display.

Art on Display

One of many pieces of art on display

By now the crush of visitors is starting to make photography difficult (I refuse to admit I am slightly claustrophobic in crowds) so it was time to move on.  There was one exquisite quilt we all admired (and my wife as a quilter really, really admired the handiwork).  Here is a piece of it seen through the gawkers.

Exquisite Quilt

Exquisite Quilt

On to stop #4.  And I’m still hungry….

Full size images of this visit here: Quady Winery Images

More to come.

About Ron Ludekens

God created a marvelous world full of wonderful sights and people. He is the Creator and it is His Palette of beauty that Ron Ludekens tries to capture as photographic images. Images of nature or images of people and their lives - both reflect the handiwork of the Creator. Ron is a photographer living in Visalia, California - part of the great Central Valley. He is immediately surrounded by agriculture and all the hard working people that feed our world. A short distance away are the grand Sierra Nevada mountains, impressive National Parks and, wider still, the vast diversity that California has to offer. Ron is one of the family owners of the L.E. Cooke Co Wholesale Nursery - a leader in the horticulture industry of North America. Even on the job, his camera is always near by. His photos for the nursery trade have been published in print and around the websites of nurseries across America. Ron is also a leader in his church and its missions. Ron's photography has been a resource the church uses in its communications and message. Plus photos of all the fun things we do are shared among members and friends. Ron also loves capturing precious moments in lives of people. Weddings, senior portraits, graduations, family gatherings, maternity and special events. Ron will not shoot more than four weddings a year to provide the attention to detail and followup that is required for such an important milestone event in the lives of the couple. Ron can be reached at 559-732-7165 or cell 559-967-5370.
This entry was posted in California, Travel Locations, Wineries and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

